May 15-21, 2017

My reading week has not been I’ve-finished-books productive, but it has been productive in starting new things I have been really excited about and am enjoying.

I finished Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson, which I was close to finishing last week. I liked it, but it struggled to resonate emotionally for me. I felt this same way with Another Brooklyn, which is slightly disappointing, but I do value the themes and topics Woodson explores and I do enjoy her writing. I finished The One Hundred Nights of Hero by Isabel Greenberg too. I enjoyed that a lot more than I initially expected. It was so whimsical, self-aware, and fun to see bamf women and girls outsmart manipulative punks. I liked it quite a bit.

DSC_0233

Right now I’m in the middle of three things: Pride and Prejudice, The Vegetarian, and Photobooth: A Biography. I am finally reading my first Austen – and a book I had on my 2017 TBR list – with three lovely women as part of a buddy read. I am about a third of the way through and I am so interested to see how this will come together. I want to learn more about both Elizabeth and Darcy. So far I love the dialogue and have been enjoying listening to it on audiobook on YouTube.

I am reading The Vegetarian by Han Kang, which I started quite a few days ago. I read the first 60 pages in a sitting or two and was so HOOKED IN. Everything about it is calling me to rate it 5 stars so far. I love the way it’s written/translated and it’s so suspenseful, gripping, and thought-provoking. I’ve joined a buddy read of it now too, so I will definitely be finishing that soon.

Photobooth: A Biography by Meags Fitzgerald is something else I have started. I am really enjoying its set-up: I find myself most interested in graphic novels/memoirs that don’t follow the typical graphic novel structure. It also mixes both the author’s experience with an actual history of photobooths which is teaching me a lot!

I’ve been failing recently on audiobooks. I think it’s mostly because I don’t have to drive for long periods of time right now, so I am still reading Maya Angelou’s autobiography. I started H is for Hawk by Helen McDonald, listened to an hour, and decided to return it. I don’t think I want a book centering on grief at the moment. I felt like I wanted something more light, so I checked out The Song Machine by John Seabrook, which I have heard mentioned often in the Switched On Pop podcast. We’ll see if I finish any audiobooks this week. I should be moving the majority of my stuff into Thomas’s house for safekeeping, so maybe I’ll listen to audiobooks as I go about finishing packing and doing the move.

vanessasignature

Leave a Reply

