May 8-14, 2017

My reading this week was a bit more stilted than last week. I feel like last week I was go, go, go right after Thomas left for his trip. This week was a bit more slow, but I still got some things accomplished.

I finished Dead Mountain by Donnie Eichar, which was fantastic. I’m almost sure I liked it more than Into Thin Air (I’m placing all the outdoorsy hiking tragedy books in my head I suppose). It was so fascinating to learn about something so mysterious, creepy, and seemingly unsolvable. We will not know what actually happened, probably ever. But it was insightful to learn what theories have been posited before and to learn Eichar’s new theory as well. I definitely learned a lot about Russia I didn’t know prior, including information about the Mansi people, the importance of hiking for many young adults at the time, and the incredible weather conditions they faced. I’d be surprised if this doesn’t make it to on my favorites list at the end of the year.

deadmtn

The moment I realized I was going to have nightmares that night.

I also finished the first volume of the Archie reboot. To be honest, it was slightly disappointing most of the way through. I think I am way more lenient towards graphic novels, and especially first volumes, but I thought there was room for improvement here. Overall, I enjoyed the tone and the characters (I can easily say I liked this Archie way more than The CW’s rendition of Archie), but I think some spark was lacking. Maybe it was that I expected automatic friendship between Betty and Veronica. It’s highly likely I am comparing this reboot to The CW show too much, because I’ve never read any Archie comics before. I will try volume two though.

I started a few things this week too, which I’m hoping to finish next week. I need to get it together and finish Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson. I am enjoying it, but it’s not one I crave to pick up. I have less than 75 pages to go, probably. I also started The One Hundred Nights of Hero by Isabel Greenberg on Sunday, which I hope to finish soon. I’m definitely enjoying that one and what it’s saying about storytelling. I’m still about a third of the way through Maya Angelou’s I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.

vanessasignature

Leave a Reply

